McFarland gets top beer journo prize for second year

Ben McFarland was been crowned Beer Writer of the Year at the British Guild of Beer Writers Annual Awards Dinner 2006 last night.

The Beer Writer of the Year is chosen from one of six category winners which seek to find the very best of beer writing and journalism.

This is the second time that Ben, who writes for various trade and national titles including The Guardian and Independent on Sunday, has won.

Last year's winner and chairman of the judges, Alastair Gilmour, said: "Ben is an exceptional talent and his knowledge and passion for beer really comes accross in his journalism. It was a tough decision as this year's entrants were of the highest standard. Ben's middle name is 'Initiative'."

McFarland also scooped the award for National Journalism.

The Judges Award for Excellence was awarded to freelance journalist John Westlake from Mapperley Park, Nottingham.

The Budvar Travel Bursary went to freelance and TV broadcaster Pete Brown from Stoke Newington, London. He was judged to benefit most from a travel bursary, which includes a trip to the Budvar brewery in the Czech Republic.

The Bishop's Finger Award for Beer and Food Writing – awarded to Richard Fox from Harrogate, broadcaster and author of The Food & Beer Cook Book.

The Whitstable Bay Organic Brewed Sustainability Writing Award went to Dominic Roskrow from Hingham, Norfolk, launch editor of Beers of the World Magazine.

The Wells and Young's Trade & Technical Journalism Award – for the best writing in trade and company newspapers went to Adam Withrington, drinks writer for The Publican. Runner up was freelance journalist Nigel Huddleston from Brighton, who received £500.

The Cains Finest Lager Award for Regional Journalism – winner was the Liverpool Daily Post's Mike Chapple.

The runner-up was the Yorkshire Post's Simon Jenkins who lives in Leeds. He received £500.


No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *