Journalists from across the media recognised in New Year honours - Press Gazette

Journalists from across the media recognised in New Year honours

A veteran women’s magazine editor, a campaigning local newspaper editor and the BBC newsreader who covered the Rwandan genocide are among the journalists recognised in the 2008 New Year Honours.

Reporters, editors and feature writers – from both print and broadcast – have been selected to receive honours from the Queen this year.

John Butterworth, the editor of the Shrewsbury and North Shropshire Chronicle, will be awarded an MBE for services to journalism.

The award is in recognition of the paper’s campaigning and charity work. In its most recent appeal, Chronicle readers donated second-hand toys and games, which were delivered to the local children’s hospice in time for Christmas.

BBC broadcast journalist George Alagiah will receive an OBE for his journalism work.

Alagiah joined the BBC in 1989 as its developing world correspondent in London and then became its southern Africa correspondent in Johannesburg. He has presented the BBC1 Six O’Clock News for the past five years.

Another BBC journalist, the World Service correspondent in the Czech Republic, Vit Kolar, has also been given an OBE for his services to radio broadcasting.

Two fashion journalists have made it on to the honours list. Colin McDowell, a senior fashion writer for the Sunday Times Style magazine, has been awarded an MBE for services to the fashion industry, in which he has worked for more than 30 years. Glenda Bailey, the editor-in-chief of Harper’s Bazaar in the US, will be made an OBE in recognition of her services to British journalism.

Bailey launched the British edition of Marie Claire in 1988, and left the UK in 1996 to become editor-in-chief of the US edition. She moved to Harper’s Bazaar in 2001.

The former vice-chair of the Defence Press and Broadcasting Advisory Committee, David Hutchinson, has been awarded an OBE for services to media.

Veteran television interviewer Michael Parkinson – a former Manchester Guardian and Daily Express reporter – will receive a knighthood for services to broadcasting. Parkinson presented the final instalment of his eponymous chat show last month, after more than 20 years on air. He is now taking a one-year break to write his autobiography.

BBC sports journalist and former Grandstand frontman Des Lynam will be made an OBE in recognition of his services to sport.

Lynam began his broadcasting career as a freelance sports commentator on BBC Radio Brighton in 1968. He went on to co-present Radio 4’s Today programme from 1974 to 1976.

Those picked for this year’s New Year Honours will be presented with their awards later this year at an investiture ceremony in the ballroom of Buckingham Palace.