Hull Daily collects top press award

The Hull Daily Mail picked up the Yorkshire Daily Newspaper of the Year award at the Yorkshire Press Awards.

HDM reporter Rick Lyon was also celebrating after being awarded the top individual honour, Yorkshire Journalist of the Year, as well as being named News Reporter of the Year.

The winners of the 2003 Yorkshire Press Awards are: Newspaper Of The Year (Daily) – HDM; Runner-up – Yorkshire Evening Post.

Newspaper Of The Year (Weekly) – Dewsbury Reporter; R-up – Wakefield Express.

Journalist of the Year – Rick Lyon, HDM; R-up – Jayne Dawson, Yorkshire Evening Post.

News Reporter Of The Year (Daily) – Rick Lyon, HDM; R-up – Maggie Stratton and Kate O’Hara, both Yorkshire Post.

News Reporter Of The Year (Weekly) – Arlene Lawler, Wakefield Express; R-up – Jo Rostron, Harrogate Advertiser.

Sports Writer Of The Year – Scott Wilson; R-up – Paul Dews, both Yorkshire Evening Post.

Photographer Of The Year – Simon Hulme, Yorkshire Post; R-up – Roger Moody, Telegraph & Argus, Bradford.

Feature Writer Of The Year (Daily) – Jayne Dawson, Yorkshire Evening Post; R-up – Matthew Woodcock, York Evening Press.

Feature Writer Of The Year (Weekly) – Margaret Heward, Spenborough Guardian; R-up – Margaret Watson, Dewsbury Reporter.

Columnist of the Year – Anne Pickles, Yorkshire Evening Post; R-up – Paul License, The Star, Sheffield.

Leader Writer Of The Year – Paul License, The Star, Sheffield; R-up – Neil Hodgkinson, Yorkshire Evening Post.

Community Reporter of the Year – Samantha Porter, Dewsbury & Mirfield Reporter; R-up – Lucy Ashton, The Star, Sheffield.

Young Journalist Of The Year – Andrew Hebden, T&A; R-up – Jessica Boulton, HDM.

Graphic Designer Of The Year – Lisa Cook, York Evening Press; Runner-up – Ann Beedham, The Star, Sheffield.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *