Hat-trick of honours for Post photographer

For the third year running, Edward Whitaker has been named horse racing’s photographer of the year.

This was the latest honour for the Racing Post man, who was also nominated for sports photographer of the year at the British Press Awards in March.

After receiving his award from the Horserace Writers’ and Photographers’ Association, Whitaker told the Racing Post: “It’s wonderful to win the prize for a third time and particularly pleasing to win it back-to-back.

“Winning awards like this isn’t just down to taking photos. I owe a lot to Jon Winter and his team on the picture desk, the sub-editors who put the pictures on the page and, particularly, my editor Chris Smith, a man who understands the power of pictures.”

The Clive Graham Trophy, presented to the journalist of the year, was a dead-heat, with the award being shared between Doug Moscrop of the Newcastle Journal and the BBC’s Clare Balding, the first woman to win the award.

Balding said: “There have been dead-heats before, but there has never been a woman’s name among the winners.

“Sue Montgomery [racing correspondent for the Independent on Sunday] that should have been you.”

Former Daily Telegraph and Horse and Hound journalist Lord John Oaksey won the President’s Trophy for his services to racing.

Oaksey, who wrote for The Daily Telegraph as “Marlborough” and for Horse and Hound as “Audax”, was also a successful amateur rider, winning the Whitbread Gold Cup and finishing second in the Grand National.

He was also a successful broadcaster, working for ITV and then Channel 4 Racing.

He was a founder trustee of the Injured Jockeys Fund.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *