Free titles shine at BSME awards

Non newsstand titles made an impact at last night’s British Society of Magazine Editors awards, with both weekly free title Sport and online-only Monkey picking up awards.

Simon Caney, editor of Sport, won launch of the year for his weekly men’s magazine that is handed out or free to London commuters.The title launched just over a year ago, and took the top spot with the widest circulation in the men’s lifestyle sector in its debut ABC, announcing 317,093 for the first half of 2007.

Ben Raworth scooped the award for innovation of the year for Dennis’ online-only Monkey magazine, which is delivered for free to its readers via email each week.

GQ editor Dylan Jones had a double win, picking up the award for men’s magazine editor of the year as well as the award for brand building initiative of the year for GQ Men of the Year, the magazine’s ‘yearly celebration of talented British men”.

Emap’s movie monthly, Empire, also celebrated a double. The magazine’s editor Mark Dinning beat its neighbour on the newsstand, Total Film, to win entertainment magazine editor of the yea,r and Empire.co.uk editor James Dyer won the award for website editor of the year.

The editors’ editor award went to Lucy Yeomans of Harper’s Bazaar, who has overseen major relaunch of the Natmags monthly fashion and lifestyle title.

Joe Frost of IPC’s music weekly, NM,E picked up art director of the year award, which was presented for the first time this year.

The Mark Boxer Award, an award presented to an individual who, in the opinion of the BSME Committee, has made an outstanding editorial contribution to magazines in this country, went to Lindsay Nicholson editorial director of Natmags. The award was presented by her close friend and former Labour spin-doctor, Alistar Campbell.

The event, held at the London Hilton on Park Lane, was presented by comedian Alan Carr.


Youth & children’s magazines, comics or fanzines

Siobhan Keeler Charlie and Lola – BBC Worldwide

Current affairs magazines

Matthew D’Ancona The Spectator – Press Holdings Media

Contract magazines (business readership)

Tim Hulse Business Life – Cedar Communications

Contract magazines (consumer readership)

David Burton Camouflage – Haymarket Network

Business & professional magazines (non-weekly)

Steve Crabb People Management – Personnel Publications

Business & professional magazines (weekly)

Amanda Baillieu Building Design – CMPi Media

Entertainment magazines

Mark Dinning Empire – Emap Consumer Media

Lifestyle magazines

Christine Hayes Olive – BBC Magazines

Men’s magazines

Dylan Jones GQ РCond̩ Nast Publications Ltd

Newspaper magazines

Nicola Jeal Observer Food Monthly – Guardian Media Group

Special interest magazines

Emma Soames Saga Magazine – Saga Publishing

Women’s magazines (non-weekly)

Valery McConnell Yours – EMAP Esprit

Women’s magazines (weekly)

John Dale Take a Break – H. Bauer Publishing Ltd

Fiona Macpherson new editor of the year

Merope Mills Guardian Weekend – Guardian News & Media

Art director of the year

Joe Frost NME – IPC Media

Launch of the year

Simon Caney Sport – Sport Media and Strategy

Website editor of the year

James Dyer empireonline.com – Emap Consumer Media

Innovation of the year

Ben Raworth for Monkeymag.co.uk – An innovative digital magazine

Brand building initiative of the year

Dylan Jones GQ – for GQ Men of the Year, a yearly celebration of talented British men

2007 Editors’ editor of the year

Lucy Yeomans Editor – Harper’s Bazaar

Mark Boxer

Lindsay Nicholson editorial director of Natmags

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *