Esquire shortlisted three times in BSME awards

The shortlist has been drawn up for the 2009 British Society of Magazine Editors Awards.

Esquire received the most nominations across the board, despite its recent drop in circulation by 9.3 per cent, and is up for three awards: Men’s Magazine Editor of the Year, Consumer Magazine Art Director of the Year and the BSME Editors’ Editor of the Year.

The awards are presented annually and this year will be held at the London Hilton on 10 November.

The shortlists for the Innovation & Brand-Building and Campaign categories will be announced in October.

The Magazine Desigh and Journalism Awards, formerly run by Press Gazette but now owned by Wilmington, are not being held this year.

The shortlists are as follows:

Business & Professional Magazines (non-weekly)

Matthew Gwyther, Management Today

Kieran Long, The Architectural Review

Hugh Pearman, RIBA Journal

Neil Rose, Legal Executive Journal

Dickon Ross, E&T

John Walters, Eye

Business & Professional Magazines (weekly)

Giles Barrie, Property Week

Denise Chevin, Building

Jane King, Farmers Weekly

Adam Leyland, The Grocer

Antony Oliver, New Civil Engineer

Richard Vize, Health Service Journal

Entertainment & Celebrity Magazines

Aubrey Day, Total Film

Mark Dinning, Empire

Johnathon Hughes, All About Soap

Julian Linley, Heat

Steven Murphy, Inside Soap

Customer Magazines (business readership)

Sarah Bale, BT Upload

Kate Cornish, Roger

Stuart Knott, Contact

Sarah Notton, Accounting Technician

Matt Potter, Business Sense

Deborah Wald, Smart

Customer Magazines (consumer readership)

Zac Assemakis, Land Rover Onelife

Nik Berg, Zoom Zoom

David Burton, Camouflage

Mark Hooper, Electric!

William Sitwell, Waitrose Food Illustrated

Tom Stainer, BEER

Ed Wood, Books Quarterly

Lifestyle Magazines

Gillian Carter, BBC Good Food

Tony Chambers, Wallpaper*

Tim De Lisle, Intelligent Life

Ed Grenby, The Sunday Times Travel Magazine

Sarah Miller, Condé Nast Traveller

Sharon Parsons, Top Sante

Men’s Magazines

Dylan Jones, GQ

Jeremy Langmead, Esquire

Pete Muir, Men’s Fitness

Morgan Rees, Men’s Health

Matthew Todd, Attitude

Terri White, Shortlist

Newspaper Magazines

James Collard, The Times Luxx

Nicola Jeal, Observer Woman

Michele Lavery, Telegraph Magazine

Tim Lewis, Observer Sport Monthly

Merope Mills, Guardian Weekend

Gill Morgan, Times Magazine

Special Interest & Current Affairs Magazines

Jason Cowley, New Statesman

Elaine Griffiths, Prima Baby & Pregnancy

Tim Knight, Angler’s Mail

Miranda Levy, Mother & Baby

Alex Mead, Ace Tennis

Paul Morgan, Rugby World

Dave Musgrove, BBC History Magazine

Rob Spedding, Cycling Plus

Women’s Magazines (monthly or less frequent)

Sam Baker, Red

Lorraine Candy, Elle

Jo Elvin, Glamour

Sue James, woman&home

Victoria White, Company

Lucy Yeomans, Harper’s Bazaar

Women’s Magazines (weekly or fortnightly)

Jane Bruton, Grazia

Lisa Burrow, Closer

Michael Butcher, Reveal

John Dale, Take A Break

Ali Hall, Look

Lisa Smosarski, More!

Youth Magazines

Sean Blair, Flipside

Annabel Brog, Sugar

Ian Foster, Match of the Day Magazine

Peter Hart, Top Of The Pops

Sam Robinson, Girl Talk

Helen Ward,

The Fiona MacPherson New Business Editor of the Year

Mark Choueke, Marketing Week

Peter Guest, This is Africa

Stuart Macdonald, Inside Housing

Lucy Scott, Property Week Global

John Stepek, MoneyWeek

Deborah Wald, Smart

The Fiona MacPherson New Consumer Editor of the Year

Jeroen Bergmans, EasyJet Traveller

Hattie Brett,

Sally Eyden, Fabulous

Peter Grunert, Lonely Planet

Alison Hamlett, Triathlete’s World

Roger Highfield, New Scientist

Alexander Milas, Metal Hammer

Business Magazine Art Director of the Year

Cecilia Lindgren, The Architectural Review

Patrick Myles, Blueprint

Tatiana Okorie, Barclays 360

Tan Parmar, Contact

Richard Spellman, Teachers Magazine

Lauren Webb, Smart

Consumer Magazine Art Director of the Year

Marissa Bourke, Elle

Jon Butterworth, Camouflage

Simon Campbell, Ace Tennis

David McKendrick, Esquire

Maggie Murphy, Guardian Weekend

Meirion Pritchard, Wallpaper*

Graham Smith, Arise

Tom Usher, Harper’s Bazaar

Launch of the Year

Stephanie Cooper, CBeebies Art

Peter Grunert, Lonely Planet

Helen Jennings, Arise

Andy McCue, I

David Rowan, Wired

Business Magazine Website Editor of the Year

Emily Cadman,

Gabriel Fleming, Nursing Times

Julian Gairdner, Farmers Weekly

Tom Hawkins, Chemist + Druggist

Tom Lloyd, Inside Housing

Iain O’Neil,

Alex Smith,

Consumer Magazine Website Editor of the Year

Natasha Aitken,

Alex Bagner,

James Dyer, Empire Online

Mike Goldsmith,

Chris Mooney,

David Moynihan,

2009 BSME Editors’ Editor of the Year

Lisa Burrow, Closer

Sue James, woman&home

Jeremy Langmead, Esquire

Sue Peart, YOU Magazine

Morgan Rees, Men’s Health

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *