British Press Awards: First winners announced

The 2008 British Press Awards ceremony has begun at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London, with host Jon Snow announcing awards for journalists from six national newspapers and one freelance.

Guardian photographer Sean Smith won the first-ever Digital Journalist of the Year award.

The judges said his videos and picture slideshows ‘told more about the Iraq war than any 10,000-word essay”.

The Mail on Sunday‘s You and Live magazines shared the Supplement of the Year award.

The judges described the two magazines as ‘a groundbreaking pairing targeting brilliantly two different sectors of their audience”.

‘Normally the chairman of judges would make a casting vote in the event of a tie, but since both winning entries came form the same newspaper, we didn’t want to create internecine warfare by separating them,’the judges said.

Kate Mansey of the Sunday Mirror won the Young Journalist of the Year award, which is open to journalists under the age of 26.

Mansey collected a £5,000 travel bursary donated by the late Dame Ruth King in memory of her husband, Cecil Harmsworth King.

Young Journalist of the Year
Kate Mansey, Sunday Mirror

Cartoonist of the Year

Matt Pritchett, Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph

Critic of the Year
Charles Spencer, Daily Telegraph

Digital Journalist of the Year
Sean Smith,

Interviewer of the Year
Chrissy Iley, freelance

Showbiz Reporter of the Year

Sean Hamilton, Sunday Mirror

Photographer of the Year
Jeremy Selwyn, Evening Standard

Sports Photographer of the Year

Andy Hooper, Daily Mail

Supplement of the Year
You and Live, Mail on Sunday

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *