British Journalism Awards for Specialist Media now open for entries at early bird rate

Press Gazette has launched a new set of awards aimed at journalists who work in specialist media.

It is mainly aimed at specialist websites and publications, but specialist journalists working on more mainstream titles can also enter.

More than 20 former editors are among the judges who have been chosen for their independence and expertise.

The winners will be announced at Stationers’ Hall in London on 17 September 2018.

Chairman of judges, and Press Gazette editor-in-chief Dominic Ponsford, said: “As someone who has spent most of his career working in B2B media it is an area of the business which I have always felt passionate about.

“It is somewhere journalists can make a difference by becoming experts in their field and reporting on issues that no-one else is covering.

“Like the British Journalism Awards, this event has a public service ethos. So the judges will particularly be looking for work which makes a difference for the better in society and in the industries which these journalists cover.”

Each entry costs £75 (at the early bird rate) but all finalists will receive a complimentary ticket to the awards reception.

All journalists working in any medium are eligible to enter provided that the work was aimed mainly at a UK audience and was published between 1 June 2017 and 31 May 2018.

The event compliments Press Gazette’s British Journalism Awards which is held in December.

The awards categories are as follows:

  • Agriculture
  • Food
  • Built Environment
  • Health and Science
  • Public Sector and Charities
  • Finance – Sponsored by Oxford Said Business School
  • Technology
  • Education
  • Energy and Commodities
  • Manufacturing
  • Motoring
  • Transport – Sponsored by Uber
  • Investigation of the Year
  • Journalist of the Year
  • Publication of the Year
  • Business Sustainability* – Sponsored by University of Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership
  • Legal affairs.For each category the judges are looking to recognise and highlight the best journalism covering this subject area.Applicants should submit up to three pieces of work. This can take the form of news stories, features, investigations and broadcasts.Journalists working in any medium are free to enter but work must have been published between 1 June 2017 and 31 May 2018 and have been aimed at a mainly UK audience.

    Judges are looking for work which is revelatory, shows journalistic skill and rigour and which serves the public interest.

    *Business sustainability has been described as a process by which companies manage their financial, social and environmental risks, obligations and opportunities.

    The deadline for entries is 30 June. The winners will be announced at a Stationers’ Hall reception on 17 September.

    For more details about the awards (including a full list of judges) go to the British Journalism Awards for Specialist Media website.

    To begin your entry go to the awards submission portal here.


3 thoughts on “British Journalism Awards for Specialist Media now open for entries at early bird rate”

  1. I just got paid $6784 working off my laptop this month. And if you think that’s cool, my divorced friend has twin toddlers and made over $9k her first month. It feels so good making so much money RE when other people have to work for so much less. This is what I do…>>>>>>>>>>><<<<<<<

1 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 × 1 =