Blunkett to present Press Club awards

By Dominic Ponsford

David Blunkett apparently has no hard feelings over the newspaper
revelations that cost him his job, after agreeing to present the London
Press Club journalism awards next week.

Blunkett resigned as home secretary in December after press
revelations of his affair with Spectator publisher Kimberly Quinn and
allegations that he fast-tracked the visa of her nanny. The awards are
to take place at Claridge’s in London at lunchtime next Wednesday and
are sponsored by British Gas.

Blunkett will present the awards along with Philippa Kennedy, chairman of the judges.

should be an interesting afternoon for the Labour MP – although he has
agreed to present the awards, it is unclear whether he knows that
stories featuring himself figure prominently on the shortlist.

the Scoop of the Year section, the News of the World is shortlisted for
breaking news of Blunkett’s affair with a married woman. Also
shortlisted in that section is The Sunday Telegraph for breaking the
allegations about visa fast-tracking that cost Blunkett his job.

The Sun was also shortlisted in that section for its story, “Hutton Report leaked”.

News of the World, which was named Newspaper of the Year in last
month’s British Press Awards, has been nominated in the Sunday
Newspaper of the Year section by the London Press Club.

The full
list of shortlisted entries follows: Consumer Affairs Journalist of the
Year: Chris Choi, ITN; Graham Hiscott, PA News; Jonathan Prynn, Evening

Business Journalist of the Year: Robert Cole, The Times; Anthony Hilton, Evening Standard; Alex Brummer, Daily Mail.

Broadcasting Journalist of the Year: Clive Edwards, Money Programme; Alastair Stewart, London Tonight; Rachel Amatt, Sky News.

Wallace Award for Fine Writing: Alan Watkins, The Independent on
Sunday; Deborah Ross,The Independent, Spectator; Anton Antonowicz,
Daily Mirror.

Scoop of the Year: The Sunday Telegraph (Blunkett
nanny row); The Sun (Hutton Report leaked); News of the World (Blunkett

Daily Newspaper of the Year: The Sun; Daily Mail; The Independent.

Sunday Newspaper of the Year: News of the World; The Mail on Sunday; The Sunday Telegraph.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *