BBC and Robert Peston feature strongly in RTS shortlist

RTS journalism awards: The full shortlist

The BBC dominates the nominations for the Royal Television Society’s journalism awards, with Robert Peston the only journalist nominated twice.

In total, the BBC has 17 nominations. Peston is up for specialist journalist of the year and television journalist of the year.

Sky has nine nominations, including Emma Hurd for television journalist of the year and Kay Burley for presenter of the year.

ITV also has nine nominations, including News at Ten for news programme of the year, and “Ipswich – Guilty” for news coverage.

Peston’s rivals for specialist journalist are Jason Farrell of Sky News for Five News, and Faisal Islam of ITN for Channel 4.

In television journalist of the year, he faces Hurd and Martin Geissler, ITV News’s Africa correspondent.

In news programme of the year, Five News with Natasha Kaplinsky, produced by Sky News, is nominated alongside BBC and ITV’s News at Ten.

Channel 4’s Jon Snow is nominated in presenter of the year, alongside Burley and the BBC’s Andrew Neil.

The winners will be announced at the ceremony in London on 26 February, hosted by Anna Botting.

RTS journalism awards: The full shortlist

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *