Awards for hockey writing experts

Richard Amey, sports editor of the Worthing Herald, has been voted
the ninth winner of the Chris Moore Memorial Regional Hockey Writer of
the Year award, which is sponsored by The Daily Telegraph.

It is his second victory in the competition, having also won in 1999.

2004 winner of the award for the best non-staff writer was Mike
Haymonds, for his contributions to the Windsor and Slough Express

They received their plaques and winners’ cheques from
Keith Perry, sports editor of The Daily Telegraph, at Wimbledon Hockey

The runner-up in the staff writer category for the second
year in a row was Howard Griggs, sports sub-editor/writer on The Argus,
Brighton. Melanie Scott, freelance contributor to the Ilkley Gazette ,
was second in the non-staff writer category.

On the judging panel
were secretary of the Sports Journalists’ Association Trevor Bond,
Daily Telegraph hockey correspondent Claire Middleton and Peter Savage
from the Hockey Writers Club. The judges said: “This was one of the
best overall entries since the award was introduced, both in terms of
quantity and quality.

“It is rewarding to see that hockey writing
in the regions is going from strength to strength. However, two entries
did stand out from the pack and Richard Amey and Mike Haymonds are
deserved winners.

“Amey’s winning entry in 1999 was excellent,
but his efforts this time were even better as he capitalised on
Worthing women’s march to the semi-final of the National Vase.

brings professional standards to the non-professional category as his
coverage of hockey in Slough area is unparalleled. As important as the
depth and breadth of his writing, is his willingness to cover
controversy as well as success.”

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *